IDHUB Users

Follow

IDHUB Users

A user is an entity within IDHub that has many Authentication Mechanisms (Identity Providers) and Applications (Service Providers) and optionally an extra set of attributes that is stored in the TrustBuilder repository (or in 3rd party systems).

Users are people that have been granted access to certain organisational resources, these resources could include the organisation's Applications, and other related Systems.

Creating New User

This operation creates a new User in the Admin Portal. For a single User creation, this could be done from the Admin Portal, but for hundreds, or possibly thousands of Users, this could be inserted from within any database environment being used by the organisation.

The following steps can be used to create a single User on the Admin Portal

  • Click User under Administration
  • Click Add New User button at the top right of the page
  • Fill in all mandatory fields and click on button Save & Close

Possible Alerts that can be encountered during this operation

Clicking on button Save & Close without filling in data for some, or

all of the mandatory field(s), will trigger an alert message underneath these field(s), indicating that these are required field(s) that need to be filled-in.

Users Email Verification

This operation is used to verify Users Email before User can use the Password Reset functionality

  • Click User under Administration
  • Click Create under Actions
  • Fill in all mandatory data, including Email, and click button Save & Close
  • Provision the Admin Portal IDP this User
  • Set the necessary SP Policy of the IDHub Administration Portal SP or any other SP for that matter to the User
  • Go into Users Email used during the registration and click on token in email to get email verified

Editing a User

This operation is meant to edit the details of an existing User including that of the Root Administrator, except that the Email Address of the Root Administrator cannot be editied

  • Click Users under Administration
  • Click on the Edit icon adjacent to the User you want to edit
  • Make the necessary changes at the Edit Users window and click button Save & Close

Deleting a User

This operation is meant to delete any other User except the Root Administrator

  • Click Users under Administration
  • Click on the Delete icon adjacent to the User you want to delete
  • Click on the Delete button on pop up window

Possible Alerts that can be encountered during this operation

Notice the Delete button adjacent the IDHub Admin User is inactive, indicating this User cannot be deleted

Assigning Admin Rights/Privileges to any other User

This operation lets the Admin assign Admin rights/privileges to any other User

  • Click Users under Administration
  • Click on the Edit icon adjacent to the User you want to assign Admin rights/privileges
  • Go to field Administrator Access and select from the drop down list Yes
  • Click Save & Close

Users List

This operation lists all exiting Users in the database at any given moment in time, the total number of Users is also shown adjacent to the Pagination window to the right

  • Click Users under Administration

Users List Export

This operation exports all the displayed Users on the Users list page into a CSV file format

  • Click Users under Administration
  • Click on Export at the top right corner of page
  • Click OK on file selector pop up window that opens if a spreadsheet Application is selected as the default (otherwise select the appropriate spreadsheet Application)

Changing Users Password from within the Admin Portal

This operation lets the Administrator change a Users Password for reasons of the Users Account getting Locked or other security reasons.

  • Click on Link Identity Provider icon adjacent to the user you want to change his password
  • Click the Key icon adjacent the the Identity Provider for which you want to change the Users password
  • Enter new password for the Password, and Confirm Password fields
  • Click Save & Close

Possible Alerts that can be encountered during this operation

User will be informed via an Alert message at the bottom of the page that password match if User does not enter matching password for the two fields

Filters

Filters provide a means to search for a specific type of record(s). The Admin can easily look up any record(s) by setting the correct filter items/terms.

Clicking the Filter tab at the top right corner on the Users list page hides / unhide the Filter pane

Any filter once set and results returned will still remain if user uses the same machine(computer) to log out and log back into the Admin Portal again.

Filter Attributes Drop down list

Items in this drop down list are populated based on the Attributes configured, say email, lastname, first name etc...

Filter Operator Drop down list

Items in this drop down list are used to set the argument operator

Setting Ordinary Filter

This operation is meant to set a filter to be used to perform a particular search

  • Click Users under Administration
  • Set any filter term(s) of your choice and click Apply
Possible Alerts that can be encountered during this operation

The Apply and the Reset button at the top right corner of the page will be inactive (grayed out) if no filter item/term is set

An error message will be displayed if a User sets a Filter with the value field equals blank and clicks on Apply

If the filter term set does not match any item(s) in the database, then a blank result will be returned with the inscription No Results for this Filter on the page

Setting a Filter with Category Check Box Checked

This operation lets the Administrator set a Filter using a common Attribute created for two different Users.

  • Create a New Category
  • Create a New User Attribute using the newly created Category from bullet point1 above
  • Set a filter using the common Attribute created, and also check the Ignore Category check box

Setting a Filter with Additional Filter rows

This operation lets the Administrator set a Filter combining the terms of multiple rows.

  • Click Users under Administration
  • Click the Green Plus Sign (+) in the Filter pane to add additional filter row
  • Set the filter term for each row, and click Apply

Deleting Additional Filter Rows

This operation deletes already added filter rows

Click the Red Minus Sign (-) in the Filter Pane to delete any additional filter row(s)

Resetting a Filter

This operation is meant to reset an already set filter.

Clicking the Reset button will reset the results of any filter to its default (Main Users List)

Digipass

If Digipass is enabled within the TrustBuilder IDHUB then a button will be available at the end of each user row. Clicking this button will go to the User Digipass screen which lists any Digipass applications that have been assigned to this user.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments